Winter 2018

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 30 of 111

13 107th California Amateur Championship When: June 19-23 Where: La Costa Resort (Carlsbad) Defending Champion: PJ Samiere Divots: Samiere's dramatic 1-up win in 2017 at the Olympic Club was rare. Before that, the last 1-up win was by Eddie Heinen in 2002. Xander Schauffele, who won at La Costa Resort in 2014, has since become a winner on the PGA Tour. 38th NCGA Amateur Stroke Play Championship When: July 6-8 Where: Poppy Hills GC (Pebble Beach) Defending Champions: Daniel Connolly Divots: Last year, Connolly was the only player to shoot par or better each of the three rounds. There has been two repeat champions in the last six years (Ben Geyer, Robby Salomon). The 54-hole record is 11-under 205 shared by Kevin Lucas and Geyer. 89th NCGA Junior Championship When: July 9-10 Where: Lake Merced GC (Daly City) Defending Champions: Brian Stark and Yealimi Noh Divots: The championship returns to Lake Merced GC, where it all started in 1930. The winner that year? Legend Ernie Pieper, Jr. Other Lake Merced champs include Ken Venturi, Bobby Clampett and LPGA member Dorothy Delasin. 52nd California Women's Amateur Championship When: July 24-28 Where: Quail Lodge Resort (Carmel Valley) Defending Champion: Brooke Riley Divots: Among those presenting the trophy to Riley last year was 1973 cham- pion Amy Alcott. Alcott isn't the only big name former winner. Other past champs include Hall of Famers Patty Sheehan and Juli Inkster, who won in 1977-78 and 1981, respectively. 15th NCGA Valley and Senior Valley Amateur Championships When: August 6-7 Where: Winchester CC (Meadow Vista) Defending Champions: Jason Anthony and Jeff Hoffman (Senior) Divots: Anthony's win last year marked his first NCGA title as an individual. The king of the Valley Am is three-time champ Nick Moore, who has won the event three of the last five years. The last player to repeat as Senior champ is Gary Vanier in 2007. 115th NCGA Amateur Match Play Championship When: August 20-24 Where: Spyglass Hill GC (Pebble Beach) Defending Champion: Isaiah Salinda Divots: Salinda's victory last year was the second 1-up finals win in four years (Matthew Seramin, 2014). The last player to go back-to-back is John Catlin in 2011. The last medalist to go on and win the title was newly-minted pro Maverick McNealy, who accomplished the feat in 2015 as the No. 2-ranked amateur in the world. 12th NCGA Senior Amateur Match Play Championship When: August 20-24 Where: Poppy Hills GC/Spyglass Hill GC (Pebble Beach) Defending Champion: Randy Haag and Frank Pieper (Super Senior) Divots: Haag and Pieper have made themselves at home at the top. The two are each two-time defending champions. Haag will look to become the first three- peat winner. 57th NCGA Senior Championship When: September 19-21 Where: Poppy Hills GC (Pebble Beach) Defending Champion: Tony Padilla Divots: Padilla more than defined clutch last year, winning the title by sinking a 70-foot putt for eagle on the 18th hole. Padilla's final round 68 was the lowest final round for a winner since Bob Rowland claimed the title in 2006 with a 67. 9th NCGA Super Senior Championship When: October 15-16 Where: San Luis Obispo CC (San Luis Obispo) Defending Champion: Gary Vanier Divots: Vanier, also a winner in 2015, is the lone two-time champion of the event. It'll be the second year in a row that San Luis Obispo CC hosts. The 36-hole scoring record is 141, set by Chuck Richesin in 2016. 27th California Senior Amateur Championship When: Nov. 12-14 Where: TBD Defending Champion: Mark Morgan Divots: Morgan's victory snapped a three-year streak of a Southern California player winning the title. Jim McMurtrey (1994-95, '98) and Jeff Burda (2008-10) are the only players to have won three times. 6 7 12 13 14 15 11 8 9 10 9 10 12 11 14 15 NCGA.ORG | WINTER 2018 29

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of NCGA Golf - Winter 2018